Opinion

Blogs

NPC’s Summer reads 2019

By Various NPC staff
on 9 August 2019 , 7 minute read

The NPC team provide recommendations on what books to read this summer.

Blogs

How to harness the data revolution for social good

on 7 August 2019 , 5 minute read

The social sector has the power to turn the data revolution happening all around us into a cultural and systemic shift of such magnitude that it could change service provision fundamentally. Used for good, data has the power to radically transform our sector, and the lives of the people we serve.

Blogs

What role can the social sector play in tackling youth crime?

on 22 July 2019 , 4 minute read

What is the social sector doing to reduce and prevent youth crime?

Blogs

Shifting power, changing lives

on 19 July 2019 , 5 minute read

How can funders boost the capacity of charities and communities advocating for change?

Blogs

Learning from the frontline

on 28 June 2019 , 5 minute read

Here Senior Consultant Rachel Tait, shares what she learned at a recent event on homelessness hosted by National Lottery Community Fund which aimed to inform their Partnerships funding.

Blogs

The importance of people and place in creating effective lasting social change in communities

By Sally-Anne Greenfield
on 26 June 2019 , 4 minute read

Sally-Anne Greenfield, newly appointed trustee of NPC talks about why she believes our new strategy is an important step in the right direction.

Blogs

Attracting, recruiting and retaining the best talent

on 5 June 2019 , 5 minute read

Here NPC's Chief Operating Officer Sarah Broad discusses the steps we've taken to review and refresh our approach to recruitment with the dual aim of reducing the time and cost to recruit and improving our diversity equality and inclusion.

Blogs

Why it’s never too late for a Change Framework, even at 100

By Hannah Woods
on 30 May 2019 , 4 minute read

Gingerbread’s Head of Evaluation and Learning, Hannah Wood discusses how the charity for single parents is using evidence to inform organisational strategies and learning through their ambitious new Change Framework.

Dan Corry
Blogs

Troubled Families is not the Holy Grail

on 8 May 2019

The evaluation of the Troubled Families program is one the biggest ever attempted of a government social program. NPC CEO Dan Corry explains why it is a cause for optimism but also a shining example of all the difficulties of evaluation at this scale.

Blogs

How is civil society in the UK coping with Brexit?

By Jane Thomas
on 25 April 2019

Jane Thomas, of the Brexit Civil Society Alliance, explores the Brexit related issues the Alliance is hearing discussed by third sector and civil society organisations around the country.

Blogs

Power dynamics in grant making

on 9 April 2019

The top 300 foundations in the UK have combined assets of £65 billion and gave out £3.3 billion in grants in 2018. Do they understand their role in the systems that create social issues and should they be seeking to share or even give away their power?

Dan Corry
Blogs

Where are we on health?

on 21 March 2019

With government paralysed by Brexit, Dan Corry, NPC CEO, finds hope in the potential for collaboration between charities and the health service.

Footer